CEW Awards 2022 Winners Announcement

What a night we had at the Celtic Manor last Friday 17th June. The atmosphere at the CEW Awards 2022 was electric. There was a real buzz throughout the evening and not just at the tables that our excellent host Rupert Moon repeatedly hushed!

We absolutely loved seeing so many faces all together for the first time at what is still, the biggest, best, and buzziest awards night in the Welsh construction calendar. There were over 500 of you to witness some outstanding winners, some brilliant highly commended awards and one special mention. What stood out for us as organisers of this respected event was the desire to share best practice, ideas, a pat on the back, a drink and celebrate not just best practice but Wales. The team at the Celtic Manor made it a great night – thank you.

There is something that sets apart the CEW Awards from others of their type. And it is a particularly Welsh way of having a great time. The next step is to share the lessons from the winners and highly commended projects, organisations, and individuals. We want you to sign up to take it further – become Exemplars. We want you to share best practice in the traditions of Rethinking Construction. After COVID and amidst inflation and ongoing political uncertainties and an urgent need for our industry to decarbonise and deliver on net zero and retrofit the awards show exactly what our construction industry is capable of. Our excellent sponsors see that potential and that's why they back the CEW Awards year in and year out. Thank you.

Welsh construction is full of potential. Our role as business improvement champions is to guide, cajole, educate and influence so that our brilliant economic sector realises its potential and thrives. That's how to impress. That is how to build on the success of our award winners at Friday's CEW Awards 2022.

Look at our winners here:

Building Project of the Year
Winner - Merthyr Tydfil Bus Interchange – Capita, Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council, Morgan Sindall Construction, Welsh Government, Cardiff Capital Region

Highly Commended - Queensferry Learning Campus – Kier Construction, Flintshire County Council, Ellis Williams Architects, Alan Johnston Partnership, Futureserv

Civils Project of the Year
Winner - Barmouth Viaduct Timber Renewal – Network Rail, Alun Griffiths (Contractors) Ltd

Client of the Year
Winner - South Wales Police

Conservation & Regeneration Award
Winner - Barmouth Viaduct Timber Renewal – Network Rail, Alun Griffiths (Contractors) Ltd

Digital Construction Award
Winner - Digital by Default at Fitzalan High School Cardiff – Kier Construction, Cardiff Council, Austin-Smith:Lord, AECOM, Jubb

G4C Future Leader Award
Winner - Ben Pullen - Atkins
Highly Commended - Nick Hamersely - Kier Construction
Higly Commended - Tahra van Schalkwyk - Encon Construction

Health, Safety & Wellbeing Award
Winner - Centre for Student Life, Cardiff University – BAM Construction Ltd, Cardiff University, AECOM, Currie & Brown, Fielden Clegg Bradley Studios, IBI Group, Arup, Thames Valley Construction

Innovation Award
Winner - Siderise CT Cavity Tray – Siderise Insulation Ltd

Integration & Collaborative Working Award
Winner - Ysgol Gynradd Gymraeg Tan-y-Lan – Kier Construction, Swansea Council, Stride Treglown, Hydrock

MMC Award
Winner - Crofts Street – a Cardiff Living Project – Wates, Cardiff Council, @Home, Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners, AECOM

Net Zero Award
Winner - Bay Technology Centre – Morgan Sindall Construction, Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council, IBI Group, Hydrock, The Urbanists
Highly Commended - Eastern High – Net Zero Carbon Ready Development – Wates, Cardiff Council, Sero, Powell Dobson Architects, McCann & Partners, TIR Collective, Quad Consulting
Highly Commended - South Point Primary School – ISG Construction Ltd, Vale of Glamorgan Council, Welsh Government, McCann & Partners, Stride Treglown, AECOM, RVW

People Development Award
Winner - Thames Valley Construction
Special Recognition - Esther Anderson, Morganstone

Residential Property of the Year
Winner - Parc Eirin – Morganstone Ltd, Pobl Group, Sero
Highly Commended - Passivhaus social housing for Powys County Council – Pave Aways Building Contractors Ltd, Powys County Council, Hughes Architects, PYC, Bradley Associates Ltd

SME of the Year
Winner - LCB Group
Highly Commended - Thames Valley Construction & Civil Engineering Ltd

Value Award
Winner - Grange Pavilion – Benham Architects, Grange Pavilion CIO, IBI Group, Mann Williams, Holloway Partnership, CDF Planning, Mott MacDonald, The Urbanists

Thank you to our 2022 sponsors