CEW Awards 2023 Winners Announced!!

What a fantastic night we had at the Celtic Manor on Friday 16th June. The atmosphere was electric. There was a real buzz throughout the evening and not just at the tables that our excellent host Rupert Moon repeatedly hushed!

Thank you to all 400 of you who attended our award ceremony and witnessed some outstanding winners and some brilliant highly commended awards as well as an Outstanding Achievement and a special mention. What stood out for us as organisers of this respected event was the desire to share best practice, ideas, a pat on the back, a drink and celebrate not just best practice but Wales. 

Thank you again to our sponsors without  you we would not be able to run our awards ceremony and of course our judges their expertise is invaluable. 

A huge thank you to Kier & Sero for confirming 2024 sponsorship we are so grateful for your ongoing support. 

Our list of winners can be seen here:

Building Project of the Year:
Hafan Yr Afon - Pave Aways Building Contractors, Open Newtown, Architype, Smith Thomas

Civils Project of the Year:
Cardiff Central Square – Knights Brown Construction, Cardiff Council, Arup, Welsh Government, Greenblue, Ryan Landscapes

Client of the Year:
Cardiff Council 

Conservation & Regeneration Award:
The Plaza Redevelopment – Port Talbot – BAM Construction, Neath Port Talbot CBC, GWP Architecture, Hydrock, Asbri Planning, Vale CRW

Digital Construction Award:
BIM Builders Work & Passive Fire Stopping Golden Thread Solution Bouygues UK, Swansea Council, WSP, HMA, Hilti, CMB & Supply Chain, Auxilium Engineering Services, Thames Valley

G4C Future Leader Award:
Winner - Dave Rossington – Powell Dobson Architects
Highly Commended - Katie John – Andrew Scott


Health, Safety & Wellbeing Award:
Haverfordwest High VC School – Morgan Sindall Construction, Pembrokeshire County Council, Aecom, Atkins, Dudley’s Aluminium


Innovation Award:
ZED PODS innovative ultra-low carbon modular housing development – ZED PODS, Linc Cymru Housing Association, Renelec Groundworks

Integration & Collaborative Working Award:
Haverfordwest High Voluntary Controlled School & Sports Facilities – Morgan Sindall Construction, Pembrokeshire County Council, Haverfordwest High VC School, Atkins, Whitehead Building Services, Pembrokeshire Leisure Services


MMC Award:
ZED PODS innovative ultra-low carbon modular housing – ZED PODS, Linc Cymru Housing Association, Renelec Groundworks


Net Zero Award:
Pen Y Dre High School NZC Refurbishment – Morgan Sindall Construction, Merthyr Tydfil CBC, Lawray Architects, Cambria Consulting, WSP, MM Sustainable Consulting, Aecom


People Development Award:
Andrew Scott Ltd

Residential Property of the Year:
ZED PODS innovative ultra-low carbon modular housing deveolpment- ZED PODS, Linc Cymru Housing Association, Renelec Groundworks


SME of the Year:
Winner - Ministry of Furniture
Highly Commended - Vale CRW Ltd

Sustainability Award
Harbourside Strategic Employment Site – Andrew Scott, Neath Port Talbot CBC, WSP, Shillibiers


Value Award:
Welshpool Church in Wales Primary School – Architype, Powys County Council, Pave Aways Building Contractors, WSP


Thank you to our sponsors:


Links to our category sponsors:

Bouygues UK

Building Safety Consultancy Group




CITB Cymru

Hugh James 


Mott MacDonald




Andrew Scott


The Constrution Hub Academy